It’s a valuable addition to the editor. Clearly a !
In one instance, it might get in the way: fenced code blocks (three backticks).
More generally, I wonder for some time how to think about it (in other writing environments). A radical viewpoint could consider those pairs of symbols as belonging together (vs. a bit of typing aid on character level). Then, this duality should not only show up when creating a pair but also when deleting it. The tags of an element in XML are a similar (and more complex) example. When editing the name, both the opening and closing tags should change. In one of my editors, the closing tag is removed when I remove the opening tag. But it does not remove the opening tag when I remove the closing tag. Besides, there is a shortcut that eliminates element tags wherever the cursor is located in the element.
Ah. I knew I missed something. Thanks, should be fixed now!
About features like editing XML tags - that’s would be possible, too, but a bit more complex than brackets.
And basically, I’d want to make Checkvist editor a more rich component than a simple textarea first (maybe use contenteditable approach for that). But it is not the closest future, definitely.
This seems to work well when you select words, but I’m finding it slightly problematic while typing.
While typing and putting something in parenthesis/brackets the closing item is added, but then you either need to Right Arrow to get past it or keep typing, and type your own close item where you want it, and then the auto-created item rides along with your cursor and eventually needs to be deleted, from the end of your sentence, when you’re done typing.
Typing words with apostrophes adds a second single quote - example: typing Don’t - becomes Don’t’
This last one I’m only including because it happened while I was doing more testing prior to writing this comment:
After selecting a word and adding square brackets, I changed my mind and deciding I wanted curly brackets instead. If you hit delete to try to remove the opening square bracket you end up deleting your selected word(s) - which hopefully you would notice, but the opportunity for content to accidentally get deleted while formatting seems risky to me.
I would like to see this feature as something users could enable/disable in account settings.